Support Worker- New rates of pay

Ref: DP6868

Location: Crawley


I am looking for personal care for a Child

Drivers licence required: Yes

Hours per week:

2 or more days per week (school holidays) shift times can be flexible and can be mutual agreed. Job shares welcome.

Hourly pay rate:

£12 per hour

My boys are 14yrs old and we are mainly looking for a PA to support them when in the community so we can enjoy some family days out.

The main focus of the role is either having independent days out with boys (as they’re getting too old to spend all their time with mum and dad) or being an extra pair of hands on days out with all of us so we can have fun as a family.

We are looking for a PA who is willing to drive our disability van and get the boys out to enjoy their school holidays, go to clubs etc.

All training required will be given.

My son, ‘B,’ has a great sense of humour and loves to be busy. He is his happiest when out and about, interacting with people and has recently started enjoying a drama club. He also enjoys cooking so it would be great if you could enjoy this activity with him. B has Cerebral Palsy and is a full-time wheelchair user so needs full personal care. This will include the use of a hoist and full training will be provided.

D is also 14. He has a wicked sense of humour and loves jokes so you might want to have some ready for him. He loves his computer games, and sometimes needs some encouragement to get out and about as he would rather be chillin’ on his XBox. He is autistic with mild Cerebral Palsy so he doesn’t need much personal care but might need some prompting and assistance.

Duties include:

  • Eating and drinking assistance
  • Moving and handling
  • Other relevant duties as required
  • Housekeeping
  • Transportation
  • Dressing / undressing
  • Bathroom assistance

Personal Care for 'B'

  • Changing pull ups as required
  • Support with transfers using a ceiling hoist
  • Dressing and undressing/ helping with buttons and fastenings.
  • Support hand over hand feeding
  • Supervision when eating (soft puree diet) and drinking due to choking risk.
  • Ensure he is clean and hygienic e.g. hand washing etc
  • Assist at bath time on occasion

Personal Care for 'D'

  • Assisting getting him ready for school in the mornings (Role 2 only)
  • Assistance when using the toilet
  • Ensure he is clean and hygienic, prompts to wash hands.
  • Assist at bath time on occasion


  • Accompanying my sons and assisting them to get out and about in school holidays.
  • On occasion acting as an extra pair of hands-on family days out.

Candidate qualities:

  • Reliable with good timekeeping
  • Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
  • Hygienic, tidy and well organised
  • Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
  • Patient and possess excellent interpersonal skills
  • Honest and cheerful
  • Creative
  • Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
  • Able to always work to high standards of health & safety


All applicants must have the right to work in the UK and be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check if required.

Please note, if you are successful in your application for this position you will be employed directly by the individual employer and not Independent Lives. Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

*Exemption for gender is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9