Details

I am looking for personal care  for a woman

The candidate should be a woman

Drivers licence required: Yes

Own vehicle needed: Yes

Hours per week:

For 13 weeks Uni/College holidays per year (half terms etc) – one day a week for 8 hours or split over two days - to be agreed and discussed with the employer.

Hourly pay rate:

10.00

Location:

East Grinstead, UK

Social Support Assistant

DP6614a

I would also like to find someone to assist me to safely access my local community. My routine is extremely important to me, and I require someone that can commit to working with me in my home along with accompanying me whilst out. I would like someone that can use their own initiative in helping me to plan my day and suggest ideas on gaining new experiences which will benefit my life and wellbeing. I struggle with confidence so it may take a while for me to build a rapport with you. I would also like to be more confident with public transport so I can get out and about and take part in activities that I may find of interest. As well as share similar interests to me so we could enjoy them together: animals, TV programmes, music, exercise. I also attend a local college part time so for someone to support me with my learning and education is important to me. Assistance to improve my ability to interact with others and to allow me to have the freedom to participate in the things I enjoy. This would be a very rewarding role for the right person. Could you be that person?

Duties include:

  • Cooking
  • Transportation
  • Companionship
  • Other relevant duties as required

Additional Duties:

• Support with general life skills
• Support with coping skills to reduce anxiety
• Support with communication skills
• Build up a trusting and friendly rapport
• Help improve awareness and safety while out in the community
• Assist to understand the value of money
• Encourage and support with using public transport
• Support and assistance with cooking/baking within the home with nutritional guidance
• To participate in leisure and social activities of choice eg ice skating, walking go-carting, horse-riding, music concerts, cinema.
• Suggest and organise new activities to try out together eg pottery painting, jigsaws, games, craft projects
• Use own vehicle is required (if applicable) when public transport is not available. To be happy to drive near and far depending on the activities etc. This will be in exchange for 35p per mile mileage including parking expenses will be reimbursed.

Candidate qualities:

  • Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
  • Reliable with good timekeeping
  • Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
  • Hygienic, tidy and well organised
  • Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
  • Patient and possess excellent interpersonal skills
  • Honest and cheerful
  • Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
  • Must be comfortable with pets
  • Able to always work to high standards of health & safety

Easy going tolerant personality with good knowledge of local area
Able to build up a good rapport and basis of trust with employer
Positive and patient attitude with excellent interpersonal skills

Notes:

All applicants must have the right to work in the UK and be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check if required.

Please note, if you are successful in your application for this position you will be employed directly by the individual employer and not Independent Lives. Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

*Exemption for gender is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9

Skip to content