Details

I am looking for personal care for a woman

Drivers licence required: Yes

Own vehicle needed: Yes

Hours per week:

Monday/Tuesday/Wednesday – 10am - 1pm Thursday and Friday – 2pm – 4.30pm There is flexibility with the days/times/shifts. Open to job share

Hourly pay rate:

£10.50 per hour

Personal Care Assistant

TM7572

I am a lady in my late thirties looking for a thoughtful and caring personal assistant to help me remain independent in my home.

My disability means that I need support and help with maintaining my home, cooking meals as well as some supervision and help with personal care and accessing the community.

I experience fatigue and pain on a daily basis and my ability to do things for myself can really vary from day to day.

I would really like to find a PA who is similarly open minded and is able to enjoy the simple things in life with me such as sitting in the park ‘people watching’, window shopping and enjoying a coffee in a coffee shop.

I require a driver with their own car so that I can access appointments.

Duties include:

  • Administration
  • Housekeeping
  • Shopping
  • Cooking
  • Transportation
  • Companionship
  • Dressing / undressing
  • Medication prompting/administering
  • Eating and drinking assistance
  • Moving and handling

Additional Duties:

Minor household maintenance eg changing light bulbs, taking down curtains for washing
Batch cooking meals
Laundry
Physiotherapy exercises
Help with other aspect of personal care for example assisting employer to get changed at swimming pool/gym.
Supervision and occasional assistance with bathing, showering, drying, hair washing/ brushing as required
Accompanying and assisting employer on shopping trips when required
Accompany employer when accessing social and leisure activities for example; visiting cafes, pushing client in wheel chair around park, beach and accessible forest walks.
Accompanying employer to doctors/hospital appointments when required
Occasional longer journeys
The employer is happy for personal Assistant to suggest activities to do locally.
Accompanying to social meetings e.g. visiting friends and family
Collecting prescription from local pharmacy
The above duties will involve driving the employer in the PA’s car, lifting the folding wheelchair in/out of car, pushing the employer’s wheelchair when out. Alternatively, I would use my walking frame.
Lifting the folding wheelchair in/out of car, pushing the employer’s manual wheelchair when out.

Candidate qualities:

  • Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
  • Reliable with good timekeeping
  • Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
  • Hygienic, tidy and well organised
  • Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
  • Patient and possess excellent interpersonal skills
  • Honest and cheerful
  • Creative
  • Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
  • Able to always work to high standards of health & safety

Notes:

Non-smoker due to medical reasons

All applicants must have the right to work in the UK and be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check if required.

Please note, if you are successful in your application for this position you will be employed directly by the individual employer and not Independent Lives. Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

*Exemption for gender is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9

Skip to content