Personal Assistant

Ref: DP5694

Location: Burgess Hill


I am looking for personal care for a Man

Drivers licence required: No

Hours per week:

up to 18hrs per week, split over 2/3 days per week

Hourly pay rate:


My son is a 29 yr old male with Autism and severe learning disabilities. He requires someone with an understanding of his additional needs to support him when he goes out in the community. He is pre-verbal and communicates with others using visuals (pictures and photos) and gesture (pointing). He has a small book with photographs of various activities and common destinations and it is a great help to him if he is directed to the relevant photo before setting off in the car.

My son enjoys an active lifestyle. His favoured pursuits include going for walks in the countryside and nearby towns/villages. He particularly enjoys walks in National Trust properties and local parks (Tilgate being a favourite). He likes being by water and enjoys walking along the seafront in Brighton and Hove.

He also likes browsing local shops and garden centres. He will frequently point to show which shops he would like to go around and he will often go to the upper floors via the escalators and may revisit the same shop multiple times. He enjoys sitting in premises such as Costa or Cafe Nero. Sitting in cafes is his preference during the inclement winter months as opposed to long country walks. During summer walks he may pause as he particularly enjoys standing or sitting in the sun

He likes to go swimming. He has been regularly attending a local swim club for adults with special needs for several years. He enjoys socialising with his peers each time he attends. With support, he has participated in the club’s annual swimathon to raise money for the club and other charities in Sussex.

My son has also been horse riding with the RDA for a number of years. Previous support workers have helped him attend these sessions.

At home with his family, he enjoys watching TV (his favourite programmes include cooking shows, nature documentaries and entertainment series such as Strictly Come Dancing). He enjoys listening to a broad range of music from classical music (particularly, piano) to pop music and is a food lover. When encouraged, he will get involved in the kitchen and complete light tasks such as stirring food on the hob, under supervision.

Duties include:

  • Other relevant duties as required
  • Transportation
  • Companionship
  • Dressing / undressing
  • Bathroom assistance

  • Offering the young man a choice of outings and activities. He enjoys walks in National Trust properties, Tilgate Park, Lewes, Arundel, Guildford, Horsham and the sea fronts at Littlehampton, Hove and Brighton including the Pier and Garden Centres.
  • There is limited personal care, the young man requires some support in using the toilet and helping with outer clothing, or getting changed for horse riding or swimming.

Candidate qualities:

  • Respectful of the employer's privacy and confidentiality
  • Reliable with good timekeeping
  • Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
  • Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
  • Patient and possess excellent interpersonal skills
  • Honest and cheerful
  • Creative
  • Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
  • Able to always work to high standards of health & safety

  • Must have a UK driving licence and be over 25 to go on the insurance policy for the Motability car

Additional requirements

Non-smoker preferred or someone willing to refrain from smoking during working hours


All applicants must have the right to work in the UK and be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check if required.

Please note, if you are successful in your application for this position you will be employed directly by the individual employer and not Independent Lives. Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

*Exemption for gender is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9