Personal Assistant

Ref: DP3936

Location: Crawley


I am looking for personal care for a Man

Drivers licence required: Yes

Own vehicle needed: Yes

Hours per week:

Weekends and school holidays, flexible hours

Hourly pay rate:

Starting from £13

We are looking for a PA for our non-verbal 18 year old son, to support him, in all his favourite activities. He is a cheerful young man with a big smile and full of character. He does, however, have significant disabilities that mean he requires full supervision and support with meals and personal care. Experience with Autism and Epilepsy preferred but not essential. We would ideally be looking for someone who is first aid trained.

Potential for the odd overnight respite within the home

Duties include:

  • Personal grooming
  • Eating and drinking assistance
  • Other relevant duties as required
  • Transportation
  • Companionship
  • Dressing / undressing
  • Bathroom assistance

Candidate qualities:

  • Respectful of the employer's privacy and confidentiality
  • Reliable with good timekeeping
  • Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
  • Patient and possess excellent interpersonal skills
  • Honest and cheerful
  • Creative
  • Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
  • Must be comfortable with pets
  • Able to always work to high standards of health & safety

  • We are looking for someone who is patient, yet firm, caring and calm as there may be challenging behaviours


All applicants must have the right to work in the UK and be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check if required.

Please note, if you are successful in your application for this position you will be employed directly by the individual employer and not Independent Lives. Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

*Exemption for gender is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9