Female Personal Care assistant

Ref: DP4482

Location: Henfield

Details

I am looking for personal care for a Woman

Drivers licence required: Yes

Own vehicle needed: Yes

Hours per week:

2 Part time PAs required for 2-3 days per week, with additional evening and weekend shifts by mutual agreement

Hourly pay rate:

15

Nurse / Carer / PA required for a 35yr old young lady who suffers from a severe learning disability, has a tracheostomy / laryngectomy, a corrected spinal scoliosis and epilepsy.  She lives at home with her mother and brothers.  She attends a day centre 5 days a week.  She requires 2 x carers to give her one to one support in these activities, as well as helping to manage a tracheostomy and her epilepsy, and to promote learning, recreation, and socialisation into her life.

This includes transporting her to and from her activities in the PA’s own car (Mileage Paid) and supporting her mother at home with her.  She is a very happy, sociable girl with a good sense of humour.

More important is having plenty of common sense, responsibility and 100% reliability and the ability follow procedure accurately, and to remain calm in all situations.  CRB/Police checks required.  Hours could be flexible as I am building up a team of Personal Assistants but ideally looking for 2-3 days full time per week with additional weekend/evening work by mutual agreement.

Full personal, some domestic and social care will be involved in the role.

Nursing qualifications are desirable but not essential as full training will be given.

 

Duties include:

  • Medication prompting/administering
  • Personal grooming
  • Eating and drinking assistance
  • Moving and handling
  • Clinical tasks
  • Other relevant duties as required
  • Housekeeping
  • Shopping
  • Cooking
  • Transportation
  • Companionship
  • Gardening
  • Dressing / undressing
  • Bathroom assistance

  • General household duties relating to the care of my daughter. Maybe additional house hold tasks whenever she sleeps.
  • Helping with laundry, washing and drying
  • Changing bed linen/ Bed making
  • General housework, including cleaning, dusting and vacuuming
  • Preparing drinks, snacks and meals.
  • Light gardening duties
  • Assistance with applying cream
  • Catheter care
  • Assistance with getting in and out of bed
  • Helping with other aspects of personal care as required, for example assisting my daughter to get changed in swimming pool/gym.
  • Getting in and out of the wheelchair ('transferring')
  • Physiotherapy exercises
  • Accompany my daughter when accessing Doctors, Hospital appointments, social and leisure activities
  • Accompanying when clothes-buying, including help with un/dressing and lifting clothes on/off the rails.
  • Accompanying on trips out e.g. walks, beach, parks, local visits, attending social events, attending therapies, accompanying to social meetings e.g. friends, family.

The above duties will involve driving my daughter in the PA’s car, lifting the folding wheelchair in/out of car, pushing my daughter’s wheelchair when out.  Alternatively, you will be required to assist and guide my daughter when she walks.

At home my daughter likes most things, musical toys, press button toys, painting and being sung to!

Candidate qualities:

  • Respectful of the employer's privacy and confidentiality
  • Reliable with good timekeeping
  • Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
  • Hygienic, tidy and well organised
  • Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
  • Patient and possess excellent interpersonal skills
  • Honest and cheerful
  • Creative
  • Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
  • Able to always work to high standards of health & safety

Notes:

All applicants must have the right to work in the UK and be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check if required.

Please note, if you are successful in your application for this position you will be employed directly by the individual employer and not Independent Lives. Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

*Exemption for gender is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
#pf-body h2 { font-size: 1.3em; } #pf-body #pf-title{ font-size: 1.7em; } #pf-body { font-size: 18px; } .pf-13 { font-size: 130%; } .pf-14 { font-size: 140%; } .pf-15 { font-size: 160%; } img.pf-primary-img { display: none !important; } .fl-builder-shape-wavy{ display: none !important; }