2x Personal Assistants

Ref: DP5427

Location: Shoreham-by-Sea


I am looking for personal care for a Man

Drivers licence required: No

Hours per week:

7.45 am -1pm, various days available, slight flexibility could be arranged on start time

Hourly pay rate:


I am a 43-year-old man looking for assistance with washing and dressing in the morning.  I am washed and dressed on my hospital bed; I then need assistance to transfer on to my manual wheelchair with the aid of a slide board. My breakfast and hot drink are then prepared but I can feed myself. I need to be given tablets from my blister pack.

I have a spinal cord injury from a bike accident 10 years ago, which, makes me a tetraplegic C5. I have a suprapubic catheter (district nurses change every few weeks) and a stoma bag.  Training will be given for every aspect of this routine.  This routine is not difficult to learn and rarely alters.  I can communicate easily to give instruction with my care.  All training given with my condition or training required by law is free and you will be paid if the training is out of your shift hours.  I live in a bungalow and receive 24-hour care. My carers have all been caring for me for long periods of time and are approachable and always willing to help each other.

Duties include:

  • Medication prompting/administering
  • Personal grooming
  • Eating and drinking assistance
  • Housekeeping
  • Cooking

•    Washing and dressing on adaptable bed
•    Catheter care and stoma care

•    Lifting the folding wheelchair in/out of car.  Only if an early appointment is required for hospital, Doctors etc.

Candidate qualities:

  • Respectful of the employer's privacy and confidentiality
  • Reliable with good timekeeping
  • Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
  • Hygienic, tidy and well organised
  • Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
  • Patient and possess excellent interpersonal skills
  • Honest and cheerful
  • Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
  • Must be comfortable with pets
  • Able to always work to high standards of health & safety

•    Smoking or vaping is not a problem but must be done in the garden.
•    Other : No car/licence required but must be able to travel to my home by 7.45am


All applicants must have the right to work in the UK and be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check if required.

Please note, if you are successful in your application for this position you will be employed directly by the individual employer and not Independent Lives. Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

*Exemption for gender is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9