Female Personal Assistant/Support Worker

Ref: DP3282

Location: Rustington

Details

I am looking for personal care for a Woman

The candidate should be a woman*

Drivers licence required: Yes

Hours per week:

Up to 15 hours per week

Hourly pay rate:

£`15 per hour

I am an alternative and slightly eccentric 46-year-old woman who appreciates difference and style, living with a neurological condition called Fibromyalgia and Hypermobile Ehlers-Danlos syndrome (hEDS) meaning my limbs dislocate without warning.

These conditions mean I need support with day-to-day tasks to not exhaust myself or damage my body.

I am looking for Female personal assistant to support me with social and domestic support as well as personal care (when needed) in a bohemian household.

I’m fiercely independent and looking for someone who will help me regain as much of my independence as possible, in the garden and out and about with my dog.

Duties include:

  • Medication prompting/administering
  • Personal grooming
  • Eating and drinking assistance
  • Moving and handling
  • Other relevant duties as required
  • Administration
  • Housekeeping
  • Shopping
  • Cooking
  • Transportation
  • Companionship
  • Dressing / undressing
  • Bathroom assistance

  • Laundry – all aspects
  • Changing bed linen and bed making
  • Taking the bins out
  • Washing and bathing/showering – towelling dry/ drying hair when required
  • Supervision and/or assistance with showering, drying, hair washing/ brushing as required
  • Help getting into and out of bath/shower as required
  • To be on call when employer has a shower
  • Help getting in and out of bed
  • Collecting my medication from the pharmacy
  • changed at swimming pool/gym.
  • Getting in and out of the wheelchair when required on occasion ('transferring')
  • Supporting me with physiotherapy exercises
  • Support with parenting e.g. picking up teenage children to visit
  • The below duties will involve driving the employer in the employer’s car, when required lifting the folding wheelchair in/out of car, pushing the employer’s wheelchair when out. Alternatively, I would use my walking stick
  • Accompanying on day trips out (e.g. the garden centre, beach, social events) and leisure activities (e.g. swimming lessons, art courses)
  • Accompanying me to appointments, meetings, courses and workshops
  • When the employer is staying at another person’s home carrying luggage to and from the car, and helping with packing. Driving the employer to and from the friend’s residence

Candidate qualities:

  • Respectful of the employer's privacy and confidentiality
  • Able to tolerate the employer smoking in the workplace
  • Reliable with good timekeeping
  • Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
  • Hygienic, tidy and well organised
  • Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
  • Patient and possess excellent interpersonal skills
  • Honest and cheerful
  • Creative
  • Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
  • Must be comfortable with pets
  • Able to always work to high standards of health & safety
  • Happy to work in a smoking environment

  • Female* due to personal care needs
  • Previous experience is preferred but not essential as a kind and common sense approach to these roles

Notes:

All applicants must have the right to work in the UK and be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check if required.

Please note, if you are successful in your application for this position you will be employed directly by the individual employer and not Independent Lives. Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

*Exemption for gender is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9