Bank Personal Assistant

Ref: DP7011a

Location: Chichester


I am looking for personal care for a Woman

Drivers licence required: Yes

Own vehicle needed: Yes

Hours per week:

Cover for other PAs holiday and sickness, this may be weekends or weekdays for 2-3 hour blocks

Hourly pay rate:

£12.60 per hour plus 35p per mile

I am a 70 year old lady with multiple health ailments. My main issue is I have 2 spinal conditions which greatly hamper my physical abilities.

In the last year I have also had a stroke leaving me a bit weaker on my left side. I need support to attend appointments as I suffer with panic attacks and anxiety, however, on the whole I am happy and bubbly. I do need a driver as I can’t always go out due to my conditions.

I have 2 Shitzhu’s so you will need to be a dog lover. If you smoke, you would have to do this away from myself due to my medical conditions.

This is a very varied post with no two days being the same and I look forward to hearing from you.

Duties include:

  • Medication prompting/administering
  • Moving and handling
  • Other relevant duties as required
  • Administration
  • Housekeeping
  • Shopping
  • Cooking
  • Transportation
  • Looking after pets
  • Gardening
  • Dressing / undressing

  • Laundry- all aspects
  • Changing/making bed
  • Taking out rubbish
  • Minor household maintenance eg changing light bulbs, taking down curtains for washing
  • Assistance with dog walking
  • Making phone calls on employers behalf and support with form filling
  • Washing, Bathing, towel drying
  • Assistance with applying cream
  • General hair and skin care
  • Helping with other aspects of personal care as required, for example foot soaks
  • Getting in and out of the wheelchair ('transferring')
  • Exercises
  • Accompanying employer to doctors/hospital appointments when required
  • Accompanying when clothes-buying, including help with un/dressing and lifting clothes on/off the rails.
  • Occasional longer journeys
  • Accompanying on trips out e.g. to the library, the vet, to see family.
  • Accompanying on trips out e.g. to take photographs at the beach or in the woods or, visiting friends.
  • Accompanying on trips out eg to the garden centre, beach, cinema, craft fairs, local visits, out shopping for fun, attending social events
  • Accompanying to social meetings eg friends, family
  • The above duties will involve driving the employer in the PA’s car, lifting the folding wheelchair in/out of car, pushing the employer’s wheelchair when out.  Alternatively, I would use my walking stick or power chair
  • Whilst on duty at the employer’s home watching TV and assisting with craft activities

Candidate qualities:

  • Respectful of the employer's privacy and confidentiality
  • Reliable with good timekeeping
  • Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
  • Hygienic, tidy and well organised
  • Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
  • Patient and possess excellent interpersonal skills
  • Honest and cheerful
  • Creative
  • Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
  • Must be comfortable with pets
  • Able to always work to high standards of health & safety


All applicants must have the right to work in the UK and be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check if required.

Please note, if you are successful in your application for this position you will be employed directly by the individual employer and not Independent Lives. Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

*Exemption for gender is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9