Details

I am looking for personal care for a woman

Drivers licence required: Yes

Own vehicle needed: Yes

Hours per week:

25 hours per week Monday - Friday, 11am - 4pm. Job share preferred

Hourly pay rate:

10

Russian Speaking Personal Care Assistants

NDS7295

I am looking for kind, friendly, chatty, Russian speaking personal assistants to build a relationship and rapport with my mum. Initially it would be getting to know her, supporting her in her familiar home environment as she is very shy, but once she gets to know you, she makes strong friendships.
The role will mainly involve building a strong trusting relationship, interacting with her through conversation and various hobbies, activities and outings.
My mum is very creative and likes sewing and altering clothes; she loves fashion and has lots of clothes, hats, bags and shoes. She loves to visit the charity shops. She also enjoys exercising including yoga and Pilates. Sometimes she will need encouragement to get out and about. There may be times she requires support and accompaniment to medical or other appointments.
You must show patience and have a warm, caring personality.
Ideally, you will be able to take my mum out in your car, but this is not strictly necessary as other forms of transport can be accessed.
She has arthritis of knees and often walks without the assistance of any aids, but will sometimes require a walking stick or her walking frame when out.

Duties include:

  • Housekeeping
  • Shopping
  • Cooking
  • Medication prompting/administering
  • Other relevant duties as required

Additional Duties:

Support to use iPad to access programs and assistance with her touch phone

Accompany my when accessing social and leisure activities e.g. swimming, yoga, pilates, out shopping for fun, social groups

Accompanying employer to doctors/hospital appointments when required

Accompanying when clothes-buying.

Occasional longer journeys

Accompanying on trips out e.g. to the shops, beach,

Participate in creative activities e.g. cooking, sewing

If driving, the above duties will involve driving my mum in your car and lifting/taking out the walking frame if necessary.

Candidate qualities:

  • Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
  • Reliable with good timekeeping
  • Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
  • Hygienic, tidy and well organised
  • Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
  • Patient and possess excellent interpersonal skills
  • Honest and cheerful
  • Creative
  • Able to always work to high standards of health & safety

Russian speaking/bilingual–to be able to communicate effectively with my mum
Honest, cheerful, friendly, chatty

Notes:

All applicants must have the right to work in the UK and be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check if required.

Please note, if you are successful in your application for this position you will be employed directly by the individual employer and not Independent Lives. Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

*Exemption for gender is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9

Skip to content