Details

I am looking for personal care  for a man

Drivers licence required: No

Hours per week:

7am - 8.30am (Every day), 12noon – 1pm (Every day) , 1pm – 4pm on either a Wednesday or Thursday. The times of the shifts can vary slightly/open to job share

Hourly pay rate:

Monday to Friday - £12.00 per hour, Saturday/Sunday - £15.00 per hour

Location:

High Salvington, Worthing, UK

Personal Care Assistant

TM7671

  • I am a 57 year old man with a lower leg amputation and wheelchair bound. I am able to self propel myself around my home and try to be as independent as possible.
  • I am an easy going person with a good sense of humour. I feel that it is important to value my carers and have a lot of respect for the vocation that they have chosen.
  • I am seeking a carer who can help and support me with my morning and lunchtime routine which includes help with personal care/showing etc.
  • Support is also needed with tasks around the home for example; emptying and loading the dishwasher and washing machines, prompting medication and light cleaning duties.
  • I would also like to have support and company when accessing activities such as visiting coffee shops, the beech, clothes shopping and lunch in Arundel.
  • I have an adapted car and am able to drive myself to social activities.

Duties include:

  • Housekeeping
  • Shopping
  • Cooking
  • Companionship
  • Bathroom assistance
  • Medication prompting/administering
  • Eating and drinking assistance
  • Other relevant duties as required

Additional Duties:

Domestic -
Laundry, hanging out to dry, ironing, putting away
Helping with laundry, washing and drying
Loading and unloading the washing machine
Loading and unloading tumble dryer/washing line
Changing bed linen
Bed making
General cleaning
Taking out rubbish
General housework, including cleaning, dusting and vacuuming.
Minor household maintenance eg changing light bulbs, taking down curtains for washing
Preparing drinks, snacks and meals.
Shopping
Tidying
Making tea for the employer's guests

Personal Care:
• Washing and bathing/showering – towelling dry
• Supervision and/or assistance with showering, drying,
• Help getting into and out of shower as required
• Assistance with applying cream
• Using the toilet by a commode
• Dressing and undressing/ helping with buttons and fastenings
• Getting on to bed and wheelchair using transfer board
• Assistance with getting out of bed
• Help with dispensing tablets
• Assistance with medication i.e. helping to take tablets from foil/packets
• Getting in and out of the wheelchair ('transferring')
• Mealtimes e.g. cutting up food.

• Social:
• Accompanying and supporting on trips out e.g. to local cafes, the beech, Arundel, fish and chips on the beach in Worthing or Brighton, shopping trips etc.
• The above duties could involve lifting the folding wheelchair in/out of car, pushing the employer’s wheelchair when out.

Candidate qualities:

  • Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
  • Reliable with good timekeeping
  • Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
  • Hygienic, tidy and well organised
  • Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
  • Patient and possess excellent interpersonal skills
  • Honest and cheerful
  • Creative
  • Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
  • Must be comfortable with pets
  • Able to always work to high standards of health & safety

• Able to tolerate working in a smoker’s home – employer will smoke outside when carers are providing support.
• Must be comfortable with pets (two cats)
• Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom

Notes:

All applicants must have the right to work in the UK and be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check if required.

Please note, if you are successful in your application for this position you will be employed directly by the individual employer and not Independent Lives. Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

*Exemption for gender is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9

Skip to content