Personal Assistant

Ref: DP5912

Location: Horsham


The candidate should be a woman

Drivers licence required: Yes

Own vehicle needed: Yes

Hours per week:

5- 10 hours per week

Hourly pay rate:

£12 per hour plus 35p per mile

I am a 54 year old female sex/bodied agender/non-binary person (they/them/their pronouns,

neither male nor female gender) with Multiple Sclerosis, Supra Ventricular Tachycardia,  Asperger’s/ Autism (including executive dysfunction, pathological demand avoidance, meltdowns and shutdowns and resistance to (and stressed out by) change), Delayed Sleep Phase Syndrome (I am only awake afternoons and nights unless I force myself awake for an appointment), Type II

Diabetes, chemical sensitivities that trigger migraines and IBS, food intolerances that trigger IBS, Clinical Depression, Complex PTSD (cPTSD) and chronic migraine. I am also occasionally deaf and will need you to allow me to lipread.

I enjoy knitting and crochet. I am competent with IT & enjoy using the internet and playing online games.

I also enjoy photography.

Duties include:

  • Medication prompting/administering
  • Other relevant duties as required
  • Administration
  • Housekeeping
  • Shopping
  • Cooking
  • Transportation
  • Companionship
  • Looking after pets

  • Assistance with laundry, hanging out to dry, putting away and being proactive enough to know
  • when these need doing by checking the linen basket in bedroom one.
  • Changing and laundering bed linen.
  • Check with me if items can be tumbled before tumble drying anything.
  • Reminding me and helping me with minor household maintenance eg changing light bulbs,
  • Taking down curtains for washing.
  • Any wiping down that needs doing e.g. kitchen and bathroom mirror.
  • Take bin bags and recycling down to the refuse store as needed.
  • Notice if water filters need changing and do so.
  • Take items to the post office to post them.
  • Keep things where I know where they are - i.e. where I have placed them. e.g. put things back where you find them when cleaning.
  • Help me to organise filing and drawers.
  • Water plants on kitchen windowsill
  • Assistance with applying creams/lotions as needed.

Reminding to:

  • shower.
  • clean teeth.
  • Helping with other aspects of personal care as required, for example assisting me to get
  • changed in the swimming pool/gym.
  • Physiotherapy exercises occasionally.
  • Helping me to “build” a week’s medication into pill organizers
  • Accompanying, driving and assisting/supporting me on shopping trips and to appointments.
  • Accompanying me when accessing social and leisure activities, such as the gym or the library.
  • Accompanying me & driving me to doctors/hospital appointments.
  • Occasional longer journeys.
  • Accompanying me & driving me on trips out e.g. to the Knit & Natter club at the library on
  • Thursday afternoons at Horsham Library.
  • The above duties will involve driving me in your car for which mileage will be reimbursed and lifting my rollator / ‘walker’ in & out of your car.

Candidate qualities:

  • Reliable with good timekeeping
  • Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
  • Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
  • Patient and possess excellent interpersonal skills
  • Honest and cheerful
  • Creative
  • Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
  • Able to always work to high standards of health & safety

Must have access to own vehicle and business car insurance

If you can show that the vaccination is not suitable for you then you must be willing to wear full PPE and take a lateral flow test before entering my home

Additional requirements

Vulnerable to the risk of infection and disease transmission


All applicants must have the right to work in the UK and be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check if required.

Please note, if you are successful in your application for this position you will be employed directly by the individual employer and not Independent Lives. Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

*Exemption for gender is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9