Details

I am looking for personal care  for a man

Drivers licence required: No

Hours per week:

10 hrs per week

Hourly pay rate:

£11.50 per hour

Location:

Purley, UK

Personal Assistant

SC221

When I am at home I enjoy watching westerns, black and white films, comedies and re-runs of Top of the Pops. Baking and healthy cooking is a passion of mine which comes with a sweet tooth that has to be managed. I have a very relaxed, charming and sometimes funny demeanour. I am a good mimic, inquisitive and a keen observer of people but I do have a tendency to stare when I find something or someone fascinating. I do make my likes and dislikes very clear, and I love routine however I am open to try new things. Outside my home, I enjoy gentle walks but sometimes I have to be encouraged to do so. Cafes and parks are places I like to visit most. I also like to look at my reflection in shop windows, bus windows, anything reflective really, as I have pride in my appearance. I don’t like extra loud noises as they disturb me, even people shouting and/or arguing. If I am distressed, I need to be removed from an area and gently talked to. This helps me calm down. As my vocabulary is limited I am confident in using PECS (Picture Exchange Communication System) and a little Makaton. Sometimes I may repeat statements and or instructions I hear (echolalia).

Duties include:

  • Shopping
  • Companionship
  • Other relevant duties as required

Additional Duties:

Help locating Toilets when out in the community
Ensure hands have been washed after using the bathroom.
Accompanying and assisting me on shopping trips when required and handling cash
Accompanying on trips out e.g. to the library
Accompanying on trips out eg to the garden centre, beach, and parks
Accompanying to social meetings eg friends, friends and classes

Candidate qualities:

  • Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
  • Hygienic, tidy and well organised
  • Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
  • Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
  • Able to always work to high standards of health & safety

The best applicant will have good communication (especially if unavailable to support client and or notification when or if running late).
Reliable, trustworthy and ability to work on their own initiative and be adaptable depending on his health each day. Lots of reassurance is needed so the best person for this role would be patient and calm.
Do not mind if applicant is male or female, young or older. What is needed is full understanding of his needs, his disabilities (illiterate), autism and a mature outlook.
As much as he enjoys being outside in the community he can be very vulnerable. Sometimes make prolonged eye contact with members of the public and lack personal space and may touch strangers nose, so being vigilant is necessary.

Car driver preferred but not essential. Non smoker preferred but not essential. Enhanced DBS. Basic first aid desirable but not essential.

Notes:

Non-smoker preferred or someone willing to refrain from smoking during working hours

All applicants must have the right to work in the UK and be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check if required.

Please note, if you are successful in your application for this position you will be employed directly by the individual employer and not Independent Lives. Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

*Exemption for gender is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9

Skip to content