Personal Assistant

Ref: BRRES621

Location: Hailsham

Details

I am looking for personal care for a Woman

The candidate should be a woman*

Drivers licence required: Yes

Hours per week:

1 x Saturday evening and sleep shift (14 hrs) every 4 weeks. Further shifts may become available in the future Cover work will also be offered

Hourly pay rate:

£12 weekdays and £13 weekends £114.40 night shifts

Looking for a Personal Care Assistant in Hailsham area I enjoy crafting, exploring the countryside and film/theatre/live music. If you would like to assist someone who enjoys these things, then you could be the person I’m looking for!

I am 46 and have a type of Muscular Dystrophy. I receive funding to employ Personal Care Assistants 24 hours a day in order to live as independently as possible. I live in an adapted bungalow which has two bedrooms - one for a PA. As with life in general, things are not always straightforward and I require someone who is willing to adapt to different situations as they arise. I am a fair person and believe that loyalty and communication should work both ways.

Sometimes I need accompanying out and about or dropping off and picking up at an agreed time. I have my own car which my PA need to be able to drive – an automatic.

 

 

Duties include:

  • Medication prompting/administering
  • Personal grooming
  • Eating and drinking assistance
  • Moving and handling
  • Clinical tasks
  • Other relevant duties as required
  • Administration
  • Housekeeping
  • Shopping
  • Cooking
  • Transportation
  • Companionship
  • Dressing / undressing
  • Bathroom assistance

I sometimes wear full length callipers which means I can weight bear with support but am unable to move. I use a non-invasive ventilator to help support my respiratory muscles and maintain good levels of O2 and CO2.This does not administer oxygen. I have a fully adjustable electric bed but I sometimes require assistance in the night. I have recently had a gastrostomy so receive some nutrition through a tube in my stomach.

Candidate qualities:

  • Reliable with good timekeeping
  • Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
  • Hygienic, tidy and well organised
  • Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
  • Patient and possess excellent interpersonal skills
  • Honest and cheerful
  • Creative
  • Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
  • Able to always work to high standards of health & safety

I am looking at the possibility of going on a few short breaks in the future. This would require 2 PAs working on a 2:1 basis therefore you may be offered the opportunity to travel and assist me away from my home environment.

Additional requirements

Non-smoker due to medical reasons

Notes:

All applicants must have the right to work in the UK and be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check if required.

Please note, if you are successful in your application for this position you will be employed directly by the individual employer and not Independent Lives. Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

*Exemption for gender is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
#pf-body h2 { font-size: 1.3em; } #pf-body #pf-title{ font-size: 1.7em; } #pf-body { font-size: 18px; } .pf-13 { font-size: 130%; } .pf-14 { font-size: 140%; } .pf-15 { font-size: 160%; } img.pf-primary-img, .rank-math-breadcrumb { display: none !important; } .fl-builder-shape-wavy{ display: none !important; }