PA to Young man

Ref: DP3936

Location: Crawley

Details

I am looking for personal care for a Man

Drivers licence required: No

Hours per week:

Adhoc initially

Hourly pay rate:

starting from £15.00ph

We are looking for someone to provide support to our 18 year old son within our home.

He is non-verbal with Autism and Epilepsy. He is generally a happy young man. The role will include providing support in his own home and potentially supporting to out on trips. Personal care and preparing meals will also be part of the duties.

We are looking for someone who may be able to support overnight to provide very occasional weekend respite.

Duties include:

  • Medication prompting/administering
  • Personal grooming
  • Eating and drinking assistance
  • Cooking
  • Looking after pets
  • Dressing / undressing
  • Bathroom assistance

Candidate qualities:

  • Patient and possess excellent interpersonal skills
  • Honest and cheerful
  • Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
  • Must be comfortable with pets
  • Able to always work to high standards of health & safety

Either experience or an interest in using PECS communication would be an advantage as we are keen to develop this. General interest in learning disabilities.

We are looking for someone who is calm and patient who doesn’t mind cats (we have three).

Experience with seizures would be an advantage.

Additional requirements

Non-smoker preferred or someone willing to refrain from smoking during working hours

Notes:

All applicants must have the right to work in the UK and be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check if required.

Please note, if you are successful in your application for this position you will be employed directly by the individual employer and not Independent Lives. Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

*Exemption for gender is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9