Health Care Assistant

Ref: CC481

Location: Croydon

Details

I am looking for personal care for a Man

Drivers licence required: No

Hours per week:

12 hours per week - Saturday and Sunday - 10:00-12:00, 14:00-17:00, 20:00- 21:00. Will consider job share for these times also.

Hourly pay rate:

£15 per hour

My husband is a kind, gentle and quiet man who likes the quiet life. He enjoys watching films and loves sport, especially football as he is a huge LFC fan. His family and friends are very important to him and he enjoys spending time with them. We have a sweet little dog called Dolly so it's a must that you like dogs.

Since the progression and deterioration of the Motor Neurone's Disease my husband now needs full support in all aspects of his life and we have equipment in place to assist with this including ventilator, suction equipment, hoist to name a few. His day-to-day care is led by an excellent team of nurses. This role is to support the nurses in the daily care and support of my husband and provide the double assistance for transfers, personal care including catheter and bowel care etc.

My husband has a daily structure that involves Personal care in the morning from 10-12 and then he will sit in his chair and watch television for the day until he goes to bed at 8 in the evening. We have a fully equipped downstairs bedroom and he has full access to an open plan living area with lots of room for his daily care plan. We live in a beautiful home in Shirley with plenty of room to care for my husband. We are looking for a special person to join a nurse led care team. You must be kind, competent, confident with a strong team mentality and able to take instruction from the nursing team. You must also have the ability to use your initiative.

My husband communicates with an eye gaze system, so patience is needed to allow him time to communicate.

You must be able to commute reliably due to our location, there is free parking but no reliable public transport connections, someone who lives locally would be ideal.

Job benefits - Employment contract, holiday leave/pay, training all given. You will be employed by us, the family you are providing support too.

Duties include:

  • Personal grooming
  • Moving and handling
  • Clinical tasks
  • Other relevant duties as required
  • Housekeeping
  • Companionship
  • Dressing / undressing
  • Bathroom assistance

Changing bed linen.
Bed making.
Taking out rubbish.
Assistance with laundry - un/loading washing machine, tumble dryer/hanging to dry, folding, putting away.
Making tea for the employer's guests
Washing body and hair/towelling dry
General hair/skin/nail/oral care
Catheter care
Bowel care
Transferring in/out of bed/chair using a hoist
Repositioning
Pressure area care
Suctioning - oral and tracheostomy site
Physiotherapy exercises
Talking with my husband whilst providing care
Help with changing TV/Radio station
Reading to him- Books/ newspapers/ Sports results etc

Candidate qualities:

  • Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
  • Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
  • Patient and possess excellent interpersonal skills
  • Honest and cheerful
  • Creative
  • Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
  • Must be comfortable with pets
  • Able to always work to high standards of health & safety

Additional requirements

Non-smoker due to medical reasons, Vulnerable to the risk of infection and disease transmission

Notes:

All applicants must have the right to work in the UK and be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check if required.

Please note, if you are successful in your application for this position you will be employed directly by the individual employer and not Independent Lives. Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

*Exemption for gender is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9