Details

I am looking for personal care  for a woman

The candidate should be a woman

Drivers licence required: Yes

Own vehicle needed: Yes

Hours per week:

6 hours – shift times and days are flexible and can be discussed at interview.

Hourly pay rate:

£12.50

Location:

Worthing, UK

Female Support Worker

DP6501

My leading condition is EDS (Ehlers Danlos Syndrome), this causes weakness sporadically and can affect any part of my body. I sometimes faint and have minor fits. The level of support I require may change from day to day.

The successful applicant would be happy to support me with my personal care needs and be willing to take me to my medical appointments in the local area. This would mean you need your own vehicle, and clean UK driving licence. This would also mean using your vehicle, to assist in food shopping, picking up meds and accessing the local community. The successful applicant would be comfortable with cats and dogs as I have two cats and an assistance dog.

The role would also mean assisting with any household chores I cannot sort myself. I am relatively independent and do strive to be self-sufficient, but my serious medical conditions mean at times I need full bed rest. I may need help on these days with ensuring food, water and meds are available to me.

First aid training, or medical experience would be of assistance, but I can train you to assist my medical needs. Which is mostly learning to understand my disorders and how they can affect me, learning which meds I need and when, and how to put me in the recovery position after fainting

I also need some help remembering daily schedules, appointments, like preparing to do lists, and filling in forms, as my short-term memory is impaired, due to medication side effects.

Duties include:

  • Administration
  • Housekeeping
  • Shopping
  • Gardening
  • Dressing / undressing
  • Medication prompting/administering
  • Other relevant duties as required

Additional Duties:

Driving to and attending medical appointments, support groups, and food shopping.
It will also be essential not to bring certain foods, or wear certain products, and to use cleaning products provided, due to serious allergies.
Help with ordering and picking up meds.
Helping with other aspects of personal care as required, for example assisting employer to get changed and dried after hydrotherapy. Physiotherapy exercises at times.
Bringing food and drink, for when I can’t get it myself
Accompanying and assisting employer on shopping trips when required
Accompany employer when accessing social and support groups
Accompanying employer to doctors/hospital appointments when required
The above duties will involve driving the employer in the PA’s car, lifting the folding wheelchair in/out of car, pushing the employer’s wheelchair when out. I mostly use my walking stick

Candidate qualities:

  • Able to tolerate the employer smoking in the workplace
  • Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
  • Reliable with good timekeeping
  • Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
  • Hygienic, tidy and well organised
  • Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
  • Patient and possess excellent interpersonal skills
  • Honest and cheerful
  • Creative
  • Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
  • Able to always work to high standards of health & safety

Must be comfortable with pets as I have 2 very friendly cats and a pup in training as an assistance dog.
Must have good references

Notes:

All applicants must have the right to work in the UK and be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check if required.

Please note, if you are successful in your application for this position you will be employed directly by the individual employer and not Independent Lives. Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

*Exemption for gender is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9

Skip to content