Details

I am looking for personal care  for a woman

The candidate should be a woman

Drivers licence required: No

Hours per week:

1.5 hours early evenings x 7 days per week. Please apply for any hours you are available

Hourly pay rate:

Weekdays £11.50, Weekends £13.50

Location:

Crawley, UK

Female * Care Assistants

NDS7158

I love to read, equipping myself with knowledge, particularly science, scientific research and statistics.
I need help with personal care and some domestic tasks. I hope to find someone who is willing to learn about my diet and what I need to eat as support with cooking will be required.
My illness is unpredictable; sometimes I am exhausted but on a good day I would like to go out for some fresh air. This may require some driving, but this is not essential for the role as we can work around it.

Duties include:

  • Administration
  • Housekeeping
  • Shopping
  • Cooking
  • Dressing / undressing
  • Bathroom assistance
  • Medication prompting/administering
  • Personal grooming
  • Moving and handling
  • Other relevant duties as required

Additional Duties:

Emptying and cleaning the commode
A little support getting in and out of the wheelchair ('transferring'), when I’m feeling very unwell.
Support with occasional physiotherapy exercises, help with stretching legs as they can get stiff.
Other personal care tasks as and when.
Accompanying and assisting employer on shopping trips when required
Accompany employer when accessing social and leisure activities, e.g. going to the park.
Accompanying employer to doctors/hospital appointments when required
Help with un/dressing and lifting clothes on/off the rails.
Occasional longer journeys
Accompanying on trips out e.g. the vets, dentist and the opticians.
Driving me to the occasional Jehovah's Witness meeting, participation not required
The above duties will involve driving me in your car, lifting the folding wheelchair in/out of car, supporting me with accessing and using other equipment and pushing me in the wheelchair when out and about.

Candidate qualities:

  • Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
  • Reliable with good timekeeping
  • Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
  • Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
  • Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
  • Must be comfortable with pets
  • Able to always work to high standards of health & safety

Kind, empathetic.

Notes:

Non-smoker due to medical reasons

All applicants must have the right to work in the UK and be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check if required.

Please note, if you are successful in your application for this position you will be employed directly by the individual employer and not Independent Lives. Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

*Exemption for gender is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9

Skip to content