Female Personal Care Assistant DP7346a

Ref: DP7346a

Location: Worthing

Details

I am looking for personal care for a Woman

The candidate should be a woman

Drivers licence required: Yes

Own vehicle needed: Yes

Hours per week:

Current PA carer hours/days/times are agreed & negotiated on the start of contract and can be anything from 6 hrs a week up to 12 hours per week term time & 20hrs a week, holiday weeks depending on need.

Hourly pay rate:

10

 I need support & respite in and around those times and I need someone who can be quite flexible with hours and a car is preferable to take her to activities and clubs weekends, evening, holidays. Specifically, I need two to three shifts of 3-4 hours a week in term time, (12hrs week) to be negotiated and 8 hrs for occasional full days to cover INSET days throughout the year. Holidays I need 8-16 hrs cover on a Monday or Friday each week, possible evenings, weekends too so could be additional 4 hours. It would be wonderful to find someone who can commit long term to this role, and would be great for someone who needs regular hours each week. She is physically enabled and enjoys a variety of activities such as football every fortnight on Sundays, tennis, swimming, riding her bike, ten pin bowling. As a single mother, having a PA/ Carer gives me the additional peace of mind that I have someone to call on if I am ever ill, in need of extra help or I need to go away or out in the evenings. This rewarding role requires flexibility and commitment to give my daughter the stability that she needs. She is very socially outgoing and affectionate but needs to be continually supervised, given firm boundaries and guidance to keep her safe in the community and at home. She cannot travel independently and needs assistance, support to travel and participate in the community. She enjoys practically everything including; Books, drawing, arts/crafts, cooking, baking cakes and cake decorating, jigsaws, computer games, singing and dancing and loves to be physically active enjoying trips to the park, beach and indoor play areas. She also enjoys Kayaking, bowling abseiling and walking in the woods. She is a lot of fun to be with, very creative and is always open to trying new things if given the opportunity. We need a person who has experience working with adults with learning difficulties, who is compassionate, patient and can take the initiative by drawing up a plan of action for activities each session. The idea of this role is to provide much needed respite for me and a variety of fun and learning/educational and physical activities for my daughter that encourage her to grow and encouraged to find inclusion within the wider community that she finds enjoyable and engaging, meeting and making friends.

Duties include:

  • Bathroom assistance
  • Medication prompting/administering
  • Housekeeping
  • Dressing / undressing
  • Eating and drinking assistance
  • Cooking
  • Other relevant duties as required
  • Shopping
  • Companionship

Though my daughter€™s needs are always priority you are expected to carry out some domestic duties during shifts. Should I be taken ill or have an injury which prevents me from carrying out normal domestic tasks, the PA will be called upon I times of emergency to help with these duties. Such as:
- Cleaning and tidying vacuuming after activities, cleaning up spills and messes.
- Teaching my daughter to keep her bedroom tidy, hanging up clothes, putting away toys.
- Preparation and cooking, cleaning up and storing food, keeping kitchen areas, dishes and utensils clean and tidy

ensuring adequate and appropriate clothing & packed for activities eg putting on hat/sun cream, coat, wet weather gear, lunch, money, phone etc
Supervision and assistance at mealtimes helping to cook meals, washing dishes putting away
Assisting with washing, bathing/showering, hair, applying skin creams if necessary
Administering first aid and medicine during times of illness or accident.

Making sure her smartphone & gadgets are charged and usable.
She also has a bus pass for travel and you will need to ensure tickets are booked for any venues/activities and backpack packed with lunch and snacks.
Main priority is to keep my daughter occupied with the emphasis on enjoyment and doing fun things together.
Support with developing independence.
With prior agreement, taking my daughter out or accompanying and chaperoning on trips e.g. to soft play, park, beach craft fairs, local visits or places of interest. These could include; Museums, shopping trips, activities such as bowling, swimming, gym, meeting friends, attending village events, disability groups or clubs. This could be by walking, car, bus or train.
Constant supervision indoors and outdoors
Protecting my daughter from danger and keeping her safe for example; keeping her away from roads, dogs and strangers etc.
Intervening and supervising when with others and managing inappropriate behaviour
Teaching or correcting unacceptable behaviour in a loving, form but calm and consistent way
Giving guidance and instruction when necessary with social skills and boundaries e.g. sharing and turn taking.
Being mindful of improving my daughter€™s overall development by taking the initiative in organizing & booking activities that motivate, encourage, stimulate and engage her in a wide variety of activities e.g. reading, writing, arithmetic, colour, threading, jigsaws, painting, drawing arts and crafts, cutting out shapes, outdoor sports and physical activity etc

Candidate qualities:

  • Able to always work to high standards of health & safety
  • Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
  • Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties

Able to prioritize this position with any other work or private social activities.
Be flexible & reliable with hours and days, being able to change as short notice if necessary and be a good time keeper.
Not smoke at work, use recreational drugs or alcohol.
Experience with working with people with special needs and challenging behaviour is essential and you would need to be able to learn and adapt to my daughter€™s individual needs
Knowledge of Makaton/Signalong is useful but not essential
Possess common sense and be able to take the initiative, but also be able to follow instructions.
Have confidence to deal with any challenging behaviour in a calm, consistent and compassionate way using strategies.
Patient and tolerant, self-controlled and calm when under pressure.
Be respectful and courteous, especially when it comes to privacy confidentiality and religious beliefs
Be honest and trustworthy
Be cheerful, positive and fun to be with

It€™s also desirable if you are prepared to undertake training relevant to the job e.g. First Aid, Home Safety and Manual Handling. Previous experience and DBS is also preferred

Additional requirements

Non-smoker preferred or someone willing to refrain from smoking during working hours

Notes:

All applicants must have the right to work in the UK and be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check if required.

Please note, if you are successful in your application for this position you will be employed directly by the individual employer and not Independent Lives. Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

*Exemption for gender is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9