Female Personal Assistant – Weekends & Cover

Ref: DP6872

Location: Haywards Heath

Details

I am looking for personal care for a Woman

The candidate should be a woman*

Drivers licence required: Yes

Own vehicle needed: Yes

Hours per week:

Average of 3 hrs per week - 4 1/2 hrs one week, 1 1/2 hrs the other

Hourly pay rate:

£13 ph weekend rate. £11 ph weekday rate (if providing cover).

I’m a 32 year old female - creative, intelligent (so I’m told!), fun, and I love the outdoors!

I have PoTS - Postural Orthostatic Tachycardia Syndrome, hEDS - hypermobile Ehlers Danlos Syndrome, and MCAS - Mast Cell Activation Syndrome.  These conditions greatly affect many aspects of my life, but it is important to me to try to stay as independent as possible (with a bit of support from you) so that I can continue to enjoy everyday activities and pursue my ambitions.

I am also autistic, multiply neurodivergent, and suffer from long-term complex mental health conditions, but the care I need is mainly around my physical health.

I am in need of a weekend PA to work a fortnightly shift pattern of one week a 4 1/2 hour day shift (either Saturday or Sunday depending on preference and timings to be negotiated) and the other week a 1 1/2 hr Sunday evening shift when I return from spending the weekend at my parents’ home.  There will also be the opportunity to cover some weekday shifts if desired.

I require a driver with their own car to safely drive us for trips out.  I need some support with general household tasks and cleaning, as well as help to care for my very loving and beautiful cat Marilyn.  I need someone to be on call in my home when I shower as this activity increased my risk of fainting, but this is the full extent of the personal care I require…

I love anything creative, walks out in nature, spending time around animals, and going to the cinema.  I honestly believe that this could be a really fun and enjoyable role for the right person!

Duties include:

  • Administration
  • Housekeeping
  • Shopping
  • Transportation
  • Companionship
  • Looking after pets

Providing medical assistance in the event of fainting episodes - training and safety plan will be provided

No previous experience necessary, just a kind and compassionate nature, and a willingness to learn about my individual needs

Candidate qualities:

  • Respectful of the employer's privacy and confidentiality
  • Reliable with good timekeeping
  • Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
  • Hygienic, tidy and well organised
  • Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
  • Patient and possess excellent interpersonal skills
  • Honest and cheerful
  • Creative
  • Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
  • Must be comfortable with pets
  • Able to always work to high standards of health & safety

Kind, caring, and willing to take their lead from me to maintain my independence as much as possible.

Ideally, some flexibility to fit in around my schedule

Additional requirements

Non-smoker preferred or someone willing to refrain from smoking during working hours, Vulnerable to the risk of infection and disease transmission

Notes:

All applicants must have the right to work in the UK and be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check if required.

Please note, if you are successful in your application for this position you will be employed directly by the individual employer and not Independent Lives. Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

*Exemption for gender is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9