Carer needed for joyful 6 year old

Ref: DP7607

Location: Worthing


I am looking for personal care for a Child

Drivers licence required: Yes

Own vehicle needed: Yes

Hours per week:

5-10 hours Saturdays & school holidays

Hourly pay rate:


About me & my family

Hi, I’m 6 years old boy. I’m happy, energetic, loveable & a lot of fun & I need a friend by my side to help guide me & keep me safe whilst I experience the world. I’m looking for somebody to help me live my best life for around 5 – 7 hours on Saturdays (additional weekdays on school holidays / half-terms if possible). I am autistic & am nonspeaking, but my understanding is always improving & I use my iPad to communicate.  I live in Worthing with my Mum, Dad, 4-year-old brother & Dog.  My half-brother visits a lot too – he’s 15.  

What I like doing?

I’m happiest when out & about doing my favourite activities of which there are many …. trampolining, soft play, playgrounds, swimming, beach & woodland walks, family farms, aquariums, theme parks & exploring the world.  I need you to be engaged & stay with me during activities & not just leave me to it. I need you to explain, encourage & support me so I can get the most out of the experience.  You’ll need to bring your energy with you!

Duties include:

Some important stuff:

I am always learning & my life skills are evolving, but I still need help with my:

Toileting – following the toileting plan, taking to toilet, explaining process & personal hygiene.
Transitions & keeping me safe – Road safety & mindful of risks in every situation.  
Sensory issues – reading the signs when areas are too busy or I’m becoming overwhelmed.
Getting un/dressed where necessary - shoes, wellies, swimmers etc)
Taking time to understand me - both emotionally & practically
Communicating with me using my iPad & verbally

Candidate qualities:

  • Respectful of the employer's privacy and confidentiality
  • Reliable with good timekeeping
  • Hygienic, tidy and well organised
  • Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
  • Honest and cheerful
  • Must be comfortable with pets
  • Able to always work to high standards of health & safety

You will need to be:

•       Energetic & outdoor minded to undertake outside / physical activities

•       Honest, positive with a sense of humour – We want our son & you to have fun

•       Well organised, patient & calm – Thinking ahead of potential scenarios & activities

Additional requirements

Non-smoker preferred or someone willing to refrain from smoking during working hours


All applicants must have the right to work in the UK and be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check if required.

Please note, if you are successful in your application for this position you will be employed directly by the individual employer and not Independent Lives. Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

*Exemption for gender is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9